Page 1 of 1

A rough schematic

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 6:08 pm
by matt_e
So, I'd had the idea for building my own RF strobe kicking around for ages. I've even done some prototyping and designed a circuit that I think would be up to the task. It's pretty rough, and it's never been built, so I don't even know if it would really work, but it's a start.

For completeness, there are a bunch of off-board connectors:
Code: Select all
EXPAND: a general-purpose TWI expansion port
RADIO: connects to the radio module via SPI (I was planning on using the Sparkfun/Nordic boards for ease of use)
LCD: connects (obviously) to the LCD via SPI
KEYS: to the keypad - to save on IO's I want to use a multiplexer, which is why there are the KEYS_A[0..2], KEYS_D and #KEY_STROBE lines, which should allow us 8 inputs. which I think is more than enough, while still being flexible.
JTAG: Debug/programming port. To save space it's not the regular 20-pin connector, but it still has all the required connections.
JTAGSEL, TST & ERASE: are all processor-required jumpers
VBATT: connects to 2xAA batteries
TRIG_OUT & TRIG_IN: minijack connectors to the strobes. This area could definitely use more work.



Anyway; use it, don't use it, it's up to you. Consider it a donation to get us started :wink:. Let me know what you think, though.

Also, my apologies, but it's come out pretty small. Mainly because I can only host on flickr, and I don't have a pro account anymore, so it's limited the size of the image.

Edit: Fixed the image size

Image

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 12:05 am
by sesh
matt_e - I'm not a electronics tech-head, but if you email me the schematic I can upload it to either my Flickr account or to my webspace in a higher resolution. PM'd you my work email.

You could also try http://allyoucanupload.webshots.com/ for higher resolution uploads.

Cheers,
Brenton

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 4:03 am
by strogg
The microcontroller bits look fairly standard.. What I'm wondering is what did you use for the radio transmitter part?

PostPosted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 6:43 am
by matt_e
The radio, as i mentioned above, is a sparkfun/nordic module. Here's a link http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=705

Re: A rough schematic

PostPosted: Sat Oct 06, 2007 4:53 am
by seaton
matt_e wrote:So, I'd had the idea for building my own RF strobe kicking around for ages. I've even done some prototyping and designed a circuit that I think would be up to the task. It's pretty rough, and it's never been built, so I don't even know if it would really work, but it's a start.

For completeness, there are a bunch of off-board connectors:

Anyway; use it, don't use it, it's up to you. Consider it a donation to get us started :wink:. Let me know what you think, though.

Also, my apologies, but it's come out pretty small. Mainly because I can only host on flickr, and I don't have a pro account anymore, so it's limited the size of the image.



Thanks for that Matt, you beat me to it lol, I've been working on a schematic for the last couple of days, but yours is more complete. Great stuff!!!!

You may want to put it on the wiki, if not I could possibly put the file up for you if required, pm me if needed.

Stephen...

Standard design software?

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 3:21 am
by sirket
Has anyone decided on standard design software to use for the circuit layout and PCB design? I use Eagle mostly (as do other obviously) but some people prefer gEDA and the like. It would be nice if we could agree :)

-Don

Re: Standard design software?

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:02 am
by seaton
sirket wrote:Has anyone decided on standard design software to use for the circuit layout and PCB design? I use Eagle mostly (as do other obviously) but some people prefer gEDA and the like. It would be nice if we could agree :)

-Don


Although I've used protel quite a bit in the past and happy with the results, I would say eagle (just started learning it myself) as they have the free version that would suit most users, and the libraries available would cover most situations


stephen..

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 12:51 am
by sirket
I've used Protel in the past but it's just too expensive for personal use.

Eagle takes a lot of getting use to but once you understand how to use it you begin to realize how capable a product it is. I'll be using that for my 285 board.

-Don