RF Transmission Requirements

All hardware design discussions

Moderators: seaton, strogg

RF Transmission Requirements

Postby wpeloqui » Sat Sep 22, 2007 10:40 pm

Hi,

What requirements are needed for the RF transceiver? A simple one shot pulse? Small packets of data? I am a software engineer with a good background in digital communications. I am also a ham, and finishing off my second degree in electrical engineering.

I don't know much about photography. That is why I am following the Strobist blog site, to learn more!

There are RF xceiver modules about the size of a nickle that would far surpass most of our needs. I can envision a xceiver, a hotshoe / Sync cord interface, and a couple buttons.

I have friends and coworkers that can design and implement any packaging your mind can fathom.

Willie
wpeloqui

Postby seaton » Sun Sep 23, 2007 6:19 am

I woulld say small packets of data, one shot will be prone to interference, hence the problems with ebay triggers.

There is an active thread on this in the wireless section atm. http://forums.everythingrobotics.com/viewtopic.php?t=11
seaton
Site Admin

Re: RF Transmission Requirements

Postby TwoLeftFeet » Sun Sep 23, 2007 6:52 am

wpeloqui wrote:Hi,

What requirements are needed for the RF transceiver? A simple one shot pulse? Small packets of data? I am a software engineer with a good background in digital communications. I am also a ham, and finishing off my second degree in electrical engineering.

I don't know much about photography. That is why I am following the Strobist blog site, to learn more!

There are RF xceiver modules about the size of a nickle that would far surpass most of our needs. I can envision a xceiver, a hotshoe / Sync cord interface, and a couple buttons.

I have friends and coworkers that can design and implement any packaging your mind can fathom.

Willie

Cool!