For the desire of minimalism

Initial requirements discussion

Moderator: seaton

For the desire of minimalism

Postby anton.tagunov » Fri Sep 21, 2007 8:48 pm

Hello gentlemen,

I'm no radio engineer. But I understand that building a good remote is hard. The primary problem AFAIK is latency. A random RC from a cheap toy is no good. A transmitter takes time to go from OFF to ON AIR.

This makes my ideal true Stobist style version 1 remote extremely spartan. It can do only one thing. But do it well. Trigger the flash. Any flash on the planet.
Other requirements are: reliable, legal, reasonably-ranged, extremely low latency, doable. Doable and reliable may imply simple.

What does it spell? To me - no microprocessor. Those who share my vision please express your opinions in this thread.
Last edited by anton.tagunov on Fri Sep 21, 2007 9:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
anton.tagunov

Postby brittonphotography » Fri Sep 21, 2007 9:00 pm

Would it be possible to have a microprocessor capable of higher end functions like ETTL, with a designed pass through for simple "just trigger flash as quickly as possible" function?
if we are picking a board to use, if it can do both lets get the one with the capability to upgrade, but still sync as quickly as possible with flash.
brittonphotography

Postby anton.tagunov » Fri Sep 21, 2007 9:20 pm

brittonphotography wrote:Would it be possible to have a microprocessor capable of higher end functions ... if we are picking a board to use ... lets get the one with the capability to upgrade

Britton, everything is possible. The question is what the costs are - in money, efforts, reliability.

The post above is just my vision. I've written it solely to find out how many people agree that
upgradability is not a core requirement and can be offset by doability and simplicity

P.S. If people in the know argue that microprocessor achieves the best balance of simplicity doability and reliability I'll definitely agree that it's a good design.