help regarding rfm12b

RFM12 Wireless module discussion.

help regarding rfm12b

Postby antonbarua » Sat Mar 08, 2008 6:47 pm

hi guys
i am a newbie in this forum.i know the main purpose of the forum is for strobbist project,but i need help regarding the rfm12b.
my project is wireless data communication between pcs.i have purchased rfm12b modules and i have connected them to the parrallel port.then i have written code for the spi interface as written in the demo code provided by HOPE(rf12b_code.pdf).
the problem is,there is no indication that any bytes have been transmitted.i run the receiver in another pc and wait for the nIRQ pin to go low,as the receiver buffer fills up,but it never goes low.is there any way of finding out that the bytes i am writing are actually being sent?there is no indication that the tx register is being filled up and the data being transmitted,or the receiver is receiving data.please help me.(btw,i am using vc++ 6 for coding).
antonbarua

Re: help regarding rfm12b

Postby seaton » Wed Mar 26, 2008 6:19 am

Hi anton,

I think you've contacted me via email, but for everyone elses sake.

I've had the same problem with the nIRQ signal, it doesn't seem to work, but I haven't delved too far into it and I would really like a logic analyzer to see what everything is doing at the same time, and it's a bit hard to see it all on a 2 channel CRO

However what I do is check the first bit returned of the status command (0x0000). In my code I drop CS and output a low bit to SPI and then check the returned bit (which in RX mode is the FIFO interrupt status) then I finish the command by raising the CS, the result is a 1 then I read the fifo to get my received character, if not I just keep doding this until I receive a characer. This way I don't have to read in the entire 16 bits of the status command result.

The only problem with this approach is its polled not interrupt driven.

Hope it helps,

Stephen...
seaton
Site Admin